Tell me a little about yourself. Where do you call home?

I grew up in a small village in Germany in an area called Eifel, Eisenschmitt, with my three brothers and sister. Recently I purchased a home with my boyfriend in Waldrach, a town close to Tier. We are currently remodeling the house and hoping to finish it before our wedding in September.

How did you get your start as a Designer? Did you have any formal training or are you a self taught Designer?

I started as an apprentice to an interior decorator. I enjoyed the job even though it could be physically exhausting, but what really called me was the drawing and designing of fabric. I couldn’t let it go and finally decided to go back to school to get my GED in order to study fashion design at Fachhochschule Trier. During my time at University I completed a couple different internships to broaden my perspective which included working with a goldsmith and a seamstress.

Who or what inspired you to become a Designer?
I am not quite sure anymore. As a child I was interested in designing and remember watching movies with my mother and being amazed by the clothes. Back then a series called “Sissi” was very popular, and I believe the elaborate robes of the queens and princesses made me interested in designing dresses.

Dreams of a little girl! I still like to watch historical movies mostly because of the excellent work of the custom designers. One of my goals is to work on those projects in the future!

Do you think going to school for design is important to excel in the industry?
I think it depends how you define your goals. There are a bunch of designers out there that have great success without any formal education, but generally if you dream of getting hired by a major label, a good education, is very helpful. On the other hand if you want to have a small Atelier, an education as a seamstress would be a good background.

I believe it is very important, besides getting the right education, to network in your desired field. Internships are very helpful to make contacts and get a feel for the different design fields within fashion design. If you make good connections and really nurture them it will be easier later on to make your dreams come true.

Do you remember the first design you ever made?
Oh yes I absolutely do! I used to make cloth for my Barbie and my sister had to always be a manikin for me. The first real dress I ever made had a blue and white flower skirt and I decorated it with a Barbie doll with matching hair. I believe it might still be in my parents attic.

Did you begin working with a company? When/How did your freelance career begin?

After graduation I worked with my dad for a little while in his company. I designed patterns for rugs and display windows for him. I learn a lot during this time about running a business and gathered information about how to apply for grants and accumulating materials. I also wrote a business plan and sent it to grant submissions. While working in his company I started to accept offers as a seamstress and in November of 2009 I got my grant and was able to start my own business.


What are your goals in your work?
I would like to take on more work as a stylist. I also hope to get the opportunity to work as a custom designer for theater and movies. However I always will design evening gowns – they are my passion. I am working right now on a small collection to present at a fashion show.

What are your biggest challenges?
There are small and large challenges that life brings daily. In the future I might have some difficulties to find a balance between my family and my work, but I am sure I can work it out by having a small Atelier at home.

What are your favorite fabrics to work with?
I really enjoy working with silks and combining them with other materials. The combination of different materials offers so many new creative ideas and inspirations like combining jeans with chiffon and silk or leather with lace and feathers.

What material would you like to work with/or what skill would you like to learn that you haven’t yet?

I would like to learn how to make shoes, but it is very difficult to find somebody to train under. These days it is very rare to find people who know how to construct shoes from scratch. Most shoes are made by big manufacturing companies and not by individuals anymore. I also would like to learn more about making hats.

to see more of his work go to: facebook, whipstitch

