1. Have you always known you wanted to be a Designer? Was there a particular moment when you knew this was what you wanted to do?

I started sewing entire couture collections for my Barbie dolls very early, some of which I then also sold at flea markets for some extra pocket money. Instead of sketching I have always preferred a hands-on approach to designing. Even today I’d rather go straight to drafting the pattern then refining the design working with the toile. I don’t recall any particular moment when I decided to become a fashion designer, but I guess there must’ve been a point in time where I realized that I could turn my passion into profession.

2. Where were you born?

I was born in Germany, to a German mother and an Indonesian father but grew up in Jakarta, Indonesia. I’ve also lived in Australia and Singapore for a number of years.

3. Where are you currently based?

I am currently based near Stuttgart in Germany.

4. Did you study Design formally? Tell us about your education and training!

After doing a foundation course in Arts and Design at LaSalle College of the Arts in Singapore I then went on to study fashion design at Trier University of Applied Science. The school is known for a very practical approach to design with a strong focus on preparing their students for the fashion industry. I also spent half a year at Centro Superior de Diseño de Moda de Madrid where I focused on designing and manufacturing leather garments and accessories. During term breaks I interned at various textile and fashion companies in Germany and Indonesia, which helped me to figure out which area of the fashion industry I wanted to work in besides teaching me how fashion design works in the real world beyond the classroom walls.


5. What do you remember as your first work of art?

I made my first silk painting aged three, if that counts…

During my student years I believe the first thing I made, that I was really proud of and I still am today were the two outfits I made for the Feel the Yarn competition in Florence in 2010. I guess it took that long for me to have enough self confidence to trust my instincts as a designer and to do just what I thought was right regardless of what lecturers or other people might say.


6. How was it growing up, is your family from an artistic background? Did they always encourage you to pursue this passion?

Both my parents being textile engineers I started sewing, dying and printing fabric at an early age. They both used to paint, with my mother also sewing and doing paper craft. My parents also dragged me into museums and exhibitions all the time. Although I hated it then, I am very grateful for that today. In fact my parents were shocked when I declared that I wanted to study political science after finishing high school. I changed my mind again fairly quickly, though…

7. How would you describe your designs?

Minimalist, architectural, somewhat androgynous (not always, but a lot of the time).


8. What are your biggest challenges

Starting a project and the stopping when it is as good as it will get, as I tend to obsess over things in pursuit of perfection.


9. Where do you draw your inspiration from? What motivates you to do your art? Who are your influences?

I draw inspiration from everything that surrounds me. Sounds, smells, shapes, colors, textures …. My biggest inspiration has always been architecture and sculpture, though. The way other artists handle and manipulate space never ceases to fascinate me.

I adore the work of Tadao Ando, Richard Serra, Zaha Hadid and Hiroshi Sugimoto to name a few…As far as fashion is concerned I like the work of Yohji Yamamoto, Rick Owens, Ann Demeulemeester, Boris Bidjan Saberi, Olivier Theyskens … although I try not to derive my inspiration from other fashion designers when designing clothes.

12. Any projects lined up?

My full-time job doesn’t leave much time for other projects at the moment, but I do have something coming up at the beginning of 2012, which I am very excited about…

13. As an artist is there an ultimate goal / dream you would like to achieve?

I wouldn’t call it an ultimate goal but it is always nice to get recognition for the work you do.

14. How would you best describe yourself? Strengths, weaknesses?

I’m a hard worker, obsessive at times. As I get bored easily I’m always looking for new challenges. I’m restless, which probably accounts for the fact that I have lived in 11 cities in 5 countries in the past 10 years… Sometimes I’m not as eloquent as I wish I was so I have to resort to little doodles to explain myself.
